top of page

C4SC TT Training Series comes to a thrilling finale

The final night of our TT Training Series did not disappoint with once again a fantastic turnout and the weather being on our side. All categories were hotly contested with some being decided on the last week. With 4 out of the 5 sessions to count a maximum of 80 points was on offer.

In the elite category Dermot Radford of the Tipp Wheeler’s proved to be an unstoppable force winning on all 5 weeks for maximum points. In second place after a slow start was Paul O’Connell of Kilmallock who came very strong toward the end of the series and in 3rd was the maestro from Visit Nenagh Rene Van Damme.

The Senior category came down to the wire with Keith Coyle of the Tipp Wheeler’s gaining maximum points on the final night to secure overall victory. There was a tie for second place between Tommy Byrnes of the Tipp Wheeler’s and Martin Waters of C4SC. Tommy shaded 2nd on count back thanks to a 2 second difference on best times and Martin took 3rd overall. The most improved cyclist over the 5 weeks came from this category, Stephen Broderick and the Best Vet was Eamon Morgan of Planet Tri who finished a close 4th overall.

In the Rookie category Southside Wheely Wheeler’s Willie McCarthy came out on top after winning 4 of the 5 weeks for a maximum 80 points, a fantastic performance in a very competitive category. In 2nd place finishing very strong and storming through the field was Brendan Fogarty of C4SC and in 3rd was Gary Madden of Boru Tri who was very competitive throughout. The most consistent rider came from this category, C4SC Kevin Dunne who was ultra consistent throughout in his first step out of the junior category.

The ladies category was dominated from start to finish by Martina Byrnes who also won 4 of the 5 weeks to take a maximum 80 points, a very worthy winner. Julie White of the North Tipp Wheeler’s finished second, winning the final night and setting a PB. This capped off a great season for Julie and in third finished Susan Goodwin who just pipped Ita Browne on the final night.

Our juniors too put in fantastic performances over the 5 weeks, congratulations to our winners Bryan McCarthy, Dion O’Dowd, Cian Conneely and Oran Keenehan.

The TT series has been a phenomenal success for the club and we would like to thank our committee and in particular Hugh Dunne who put in huge work over the 5 weeks, Liam Mulcahy who once again rose to the challenge, Keith Morel, Pat Culligan, our photographers Peter Ward and Cian McNamara for some fantastic shots, our marshal’s throughout the 5 weeks for without whom the event cannot take place, great club men and women. Finally JJ Kennellys for the prizes and Herbert’s for the fantastic spread at the presentation evening.

Elite Category:

1st Dermot Radford 2nd Paul O’Connell 3rd Rene Van Damme

Senior Category:

1st Keith Coyle 2nd Tommy Byrnes 3rd Martin Waters

Rookie Category:

1st Willie McCarthy 2nd Brendan Fogarty 3rd Garry Madden

Womens Category:

1st Martina Byrnes 2nd Julie White 3rd Susan Goodwin

Most Improved:

Stephen Broderick

Most Consistent:

Kevin Dunne

Best Vet:

Eamon Morgan

Junior Category:

U14: Bryan McCarthy

U12: Dion O’Dowd

U10: Cian Conneely

U9: Oran Keenehan

bottom of page